Cider vs. Beer

BrewJen

What is different about making cider versus making beer? I'm just learning how to brew beer but I'd like to learn more about cider since I enjoy it too.

wild

Here is the shortest possible instruction set for turning apples into cider

1. Get some apples
  2. Chop them up really small
  3. Press your apples
  4. Put apple juice in a container
  5. Add yeast
  6. Let it ferment for a month or so
  7. Put the cider in clean bottles
  8. Wait for a couple of months
  9. Drink the cider
Here is the shortest possible instruction set for brewing beer

1. Heat water
  2. Mix in extract
  3. Boil and add hops
  4. cool and add yeast
  5. Ferment for three weeks
  6. Bottle and add priming sugar
  7. Bottle ferment for three weeks
  8. Drink beer
If you follow these instructions you will produce cider or beer, but probably not very nice cider or beer.With brewing a drink that is both alcoholic and great tasting, the devil is in the detail. To get a really good tasting cider or beer (and that is actually quite easy to do) you need to be sure about each stage of the brewing process. To make good quality brew you will need more detailed instructions.

steph84

I just got into hard ciders! I love this pear hard cider from Sprouts Farmer's Market. It's so flavorful and a great summer drink. I'll just have to try and make my own now.

James Dean

Here is the shortest possible instruction set for turning apples into cider

1. Get some apples
  2. Chop them up really small
  3. Press your apples
  4. Put apple juice in a container
  5. Add yeast
  6. Let it ferment for a month or so
  7. Put the cider in clean bottles
  8. Wait for a couple of months
  9. Drink the cider
Here is the shortest possible instruction set for brewing beer

1. Heat water
  2. Mix in extract
  3. Boil and add hops
  4. cool and add yeast
  5. Ferment for three weeks
  6. Bottle and add priming sugar
  7. Bottle ferment for three weeks
  8. Drink beer