Homemade cheeseball

want2brew

Does anyone know how to make a homemade cheeseball? My grandmother always made them around the holidays, and now that she has passed no one remembers how!

Candy

Years and years ago as a struggling student, I worked in a hotel kitchen and had to make these from time to time. As I recall we grated two or three kinds of cheese and added a little vinegar and Worcestershire, formed it into a ball then rolled it in chopped nuts.

Wild Child

It really depends upon what type you would like to make. You can make several from a combination of cream cheese that has been left to come to a malleable temperature. Here is the link to one of Paula Deen's cheeseballs with bacon:

The Heavyset Cheese Ball

And here's another:

Pineapple Cheese Ball

I haven't tried Paula's version but it sounds delicious. I have tried the Pineapple Cheese Ball though and it is delicious! There is also one that you make with cream cheese and marshmallow cream and serve with graham cracker pieces or Teddy Grahams. I don't have the recipe in front of me, but I'm sure you could improvise that recipe.

Vanille

The Pineapple Cheeseball looks very easy to prepare and it sounds delicious! I went to an old friend's house once and she served cheeseball with Ritz crackers, and it was scrumptious. I think she mixed cream cheese and cheddar cheese.

I LOVE the dried beef cheese balls! They are so good. I've seen cheese balls made with Velveeta Cheese too and they are good. If you can find green onions, the tops go very well in any cheese ball. Make up your own with cream cheese and any other cheese then add what you want. I like pecans on the outside of mine.

Natalie

My favorite one is a port wine cheeseball. It's straight from the grocery but I look forward to it every Christmas. Cheese is definitely one of my weaknesses. I might have to try that pineapple cheeseball.

chris