Mead Newbee

Terrence

hello everyone.

i am new to brewing mead.. I am trying it for the first time.. I have done a very simple recipe

5 gal of water -- the best MD has to offer .. lol
15 lb of honey.. from a friend who has his own hives.. wild honey.
and lalvin ec-1118 champange yeast..

we will see how this turns out.

hoping for something good.

wild

Welcome to the forum Terrence.
Congratulations on your first mead.
You are going to get a very dry mead.

Terrence

Thanks for the reply.

That is what i am hoping for. I am planning on bring it up in sweetness a little by adding a pound of honey once it’s done.

I made the biggest mistake tonight though. I will preface this by saying i brew beer and not wine or mead.

The majority of the bubbling calmed down.. Decided to xfr the mead to a glass carboy; with beer i would check the gravity and try a sample to see how it tastes. I did that..

It was like drinking a sweet snot ball.. that was nasty.. lol Will wait for another month and add something to clear the wine before doing that again.. lol

t.

Terrence

i am all excited now...

i checked the mead.. it went from a doing nothing and a bubbling carnival... its starting to clear.

cant wait ...

angeson

Defender of the swill
I'm there as well, newbee time. I've decided to make a mead But I'm not sure which one I should make. I have an orange blossom honey bee keeper for a neighbor. What variety ( melomel,braggot,pyment etc.) is most widely enjoyed. It would be a shame to put forth the effort and make something nobody liked. What is your favorite?

Terrence

I am going with a traditional dry mead.. not messing with a pyment, methyglyn or a melomel until after this batch and i know i have a good base.

since i brew beer also a braggot will not be to hard but not this time.

and i will not have fresh mullberries; both black and white, till spring.